Praise God for sisterhood and bananas!

A Saturday morning when you don’t have to wake up unwillingly is simply beautiful. I shouted out “Kaka” to my roommate Rebecca as I opened my eyes because that was just so great to know someone you have full affection for is around. That brings life. As a side effect, the peace brought forth by life enabled me to stay lazy and naughty on my bed and laugh for no reason. This was the first time in the past three months. Praise God.

Beauty also resides in routines. Something usual yet all-time-favorite to do every morning is to cook and eat breakfast: British-style crumpets with egg, ham and cheese, one half avocado, and a cup of soy milk. This morning, as a bonus for Saturday, I ate a half banana. (Nope, I ate it was because it was going bad.) But what could I do with the other two and a half banana-bread-ready bananas?

Alright, let’s be a good steward of the bananas God created — bake banana bread for tomorrow’s P-time. Because Mr. Olaf will show up, that would be a great time to show off penguins’ baking skills and I am certainly qualified as a representative. Therefore, it happens that I am standing in the kitchen and smelling the butter, banana, honey, and flour. (The online recipe doesn’t ask you to do honey, but you can use it instead of sugar. And yes, you can replace butter with olive oil. Innovation does not hurt.)

Gal's favorite

Gal’s favorite

God is good.

The penguin army couldn’t come into being if He didn’t put us together. It has been almost one year and a half since we knew each other. As we became accountability partners, we witnessed how God faithfully walked us through life transitions such as graduation, job search and entering/existing a relationship. God helped us to love each other through quality time and words of affirmation as I was recalling the sweet moments we chatted and prayed together at Trident, Pavement, Panera, Kung Fu Tea, and even my home. And who will forget the loving and silly emails, text messages, pictures, and smiling faces?

P-Time at Cafe Luna

P-Time at Cafe Luna

I don’t deserve this. I owe Him everything, yet He gives me Jesus. O, nothing but the blood of Jesus! You alone are my heart’s desire. And O Lord, seal my heart to adore Thee only.

“8 For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.” (Ephesians 2:8-9, ESV)

Banan bread

Banana bread

Should I not praise God for bananas?

Leave a Reply

